Marching into March

March is coming up. Kids in schools across the united states will bring a dollar to school so they can wear a hat. Teachers will wear blue jeans on Fridays. I never cared much for hats so I never gave any money. Little did I know that years down the road, I would need to dip into that big bucket Mrs Chapman held in the halls at school faithfully almost everyday. So many times I’d walk pass and never really understood what the big deal was.

No one really pays that much attention to the March of Dimes. Sure, it’s trendy to give to Cancer research. Sometimes fashionable when they make those cute pink teeshirts with the words “feel your boobies” on them. But does anyone ever think about babies fighting for their lives in a hospital bed?? Let me rephrase that…. In a box where in many cases their mommies can’t hold them and where they have tubes in their noses because they can’t eat. And tubes in their throats cause they can’t breathe. And tubes in their arms to pump fluids into them. Hooked up to a machine that beeps every couple of minutes when the baby stops breathing or their heart rate goes up. Left under lamps with no clothes on to try and get rid of the jaundice that could so easily require them a blood transfusion or worse, give them brain damage. A little person so fragile and precious, weighing mere ounces or just a few pounds. Babies who are sick or born with diseases. They could be there for days…. weeks…. months and still need help even after they’re sent home. An innocent life that is already threatened so soon after it is born. What about the babies?

It’s such an unforgettable moment when after nine long months, you are handed a healthy screaming baby. Hearing your child cry for the first time was the happiest moment of your life. You looked down at that tiny face and knew that you would give everything you had for that little baby. Unfortunatly, many of us don’t have that picture perfect experience. Our children are taken away to an ICU where we aren’t even allowed more than glance before they are gone. There’s no bonding, no cuddling, no dad cutting the cord. In many cases you’re not even able to really see them until midnight the next day. Now isn’t that a cause worth fighting for? It is the most painful thing that I have ever been through. That’s why for the whole month of March I’m really going to do my best to make sure everyone is more aware of March of Dimes. You never know when it will happen to you.

Comments on: "Marching into March" (1)

  1. Wow – Amanda, I’m reading this and I’ve got tears in my eyes. I have always felt for what families go through when a little one makes an early appearance – but reading your experience just breaks my heart. I am so glad Kyson is doing so good, and I will NEVER pass up an opportunity to support the March of Dimes!! (I’m wearing my purple bracelet as I type! LOL)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

