Pregnancy Superstitions

Everyone has probably heard ‘don’t raise your arms above your head or the umbilical cord will wrap around the baby’ or ‘if it’s high, it’s a girl. If it’s low, it’s a boy’ from someone at some point during their pregnancy. My mom told me not to watch scary movies or it would “mark” my baby. But have you ever heard of any other ones?

Here is a list of some lesser known pregnancy superstitions.

Wearing a Lei:

In Hawaii, there is a superstition that wearing a lei causes the umbilical cord to wrap around the baby

Boiling Water

Many people use to believe that boiling water was needed to be nearby the pregnant woman during labor. There is not a real reason as to why boiling water played a role in childbirth. Some believe the water was just a task to get the dad-to-be away from the labor, while others believed that it was used to sterilize the tools needed to perform the delivery. No matter what the reason was, this is definitely just an old wives tale with no truth or importance to it.

Key Test

This test involves a key. If you pick up a key at the top (the roundest part), you are going to have a boy. If you pick up the key at the bottom (smallest part), you are going to have a girl. If you happen to grab the key in the middle, congrats, it’s twins!

The Drano Test

The drano test combines a tablespoon of Drano and urine together. If the mixture turns green, it’s a girl. If it turns blue, it’s a boy.

Smell of Garlic

If a pregnant woman eats a clove of garlic and the smell does not come out of her pores, it’s a girl. If the smell seeps out of her pores, it’s a boy.

Skin under Left Eye

The eye test is when a “V” or “branches” appear when you pull down the skin under your left eye. If you see a “V” or “branches” in the white part, you’re having a girl.

Wooden Spoon, Scissors, and Pink Bows

Apparently if you put a wooden spoon and a pair of scissors under your bed and a pink bow under your pillow, you’ll have yourself a little baby girl.

History of Parent’s Kids

You can find out the sex by going off of your parent’s kids and the order. If you are the first born, you will have what your mother had but starting with her second child. If you are the middle child, you will have what she said, but starting with the third child. If you are the last child, you will have what your mother had in the exact order. I think this tale only works when the parents had three kids. In my case, this is true.

Moodiness and a Little Pecker

If you are really moody, you are having a girl since you have another extra girl hormones in you. Your pregnancy will make you smile and be more happy if you are having a boy because there’s a little penis inside you. Not sure how true this is, but it sure does make me laugh!

Clumsy vs. Graceful

If the pregnant woman is graceful throughout her pregnancy, she’s having a girl. If she becomes clumsy, she’s having a boy.

Little Boys

If a baby or toddler boy expresses interest in a pregnant woman, she is having a girl. If he doesn’t show interest, she’s having a boy. I think me and Casie proved this one right.

Dad’s Weight Gain

If the dad-to-be gains weight while you are pregnant, it’s a girl. If he doesn’t gain weight, you’re having a boy. Kyle gained more weight than I did. Fail.

What Do You Think?

71% of the time, the mom-to-be knows what she is having. You just know. 🙂

Morning Sickness

If you had a smooth pregnancy with no morning sickness, it’s a boy. If you were sick or felt really nauseous during your pregnancy, count on a girl. I was NEVER sick. Coinsidence?

Feet

Are your feet colder now that you are pregnant? If so, you just might be having a boy. If your feet have stayed the same before pregnancy and during, you’re having a little girl.

Hair on Legs

If the hair on your legs has been growing at record speeds, you might be having a boy.

Hands are Dry

If your hands are constantly dry, it’s a boy.

Urine

What color is your pee? If it is bright yellow, you will have a little boy. If your urine is a dull yellow, plan on a girl.

Nose

Do you feel like your nose is growing and getting wider? If so, you might be having a boy.

Headaches

If you are having headaches, you might be carrying a boy.

Drinking Water

Drinking water is really important when pregnant. An old wives tale was that if the mom-to-be wasn’t drinking enough water daily, the amniotic fluid would be really dirty for the baby. Drinking tons of water will help you stay hydrated, but has no correlation with how clean or dirty the amniotic sac is.

Baby Names

It is said that when you can only think of specific names for a boy or a girl, you will have that particularly baby. We never decided on any girl name. It just felt wrong. But we picked out Kyson Aidan before we even started trying.

Have you tried any of these or heard of any other ones? I’d be curious to know if any of these work. If you’re expecting now, go buy some Drano.

Comments on: "Pregnancy Superstitions" (7)

  1. […] Pregnancy Superstitions June 2010 3 […]

  2. I’ve NEVER heard the drano one and wish I had before my daughter was born! lol, the rest is not so much. I knew with my oldest daughter, and thought I knew with my second and I was DEAD wrong, little sneaky thing she is.

  3. Cool, most of these for me point to a boy! And I think it will be a boy, at least I’m hoping for one and this, as you can imagine really brought my mood up @v@

  4. My hands were rough, my pee was yellow and my ARMS were cold (not my feet) and I had a boy! This is interesting!

  5. that was good and i had a girl

  6. With my daughter i didn’twometed but I was sick from the smells especially the burger smells.. And I loved to eat the sweets ice cream and cakes. Now if I didn’t make a test i dont think I am pregnant. I have no any sickness at all. Now I can not eat any sweets buiscits, but i love to eat a cheese meets and salted food..and I can eat a burger at every day.
    I had a couple of dreams I have boy and from the beggining I feel I have a boy.
    Well we will found out on 5th October.

Leave a comment